Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Documentation

Deleting a Boot Volume

When you terminate an instance, you choose to delete or preserve the associated boot volume. For more information, see Terminating an Instance. You can also delete a boot volume if it has been detached from the associated instance. See Detaching a Boot Volume for how to detach a boot volume.

Warning

You cannot undo this operation. Any data on a volume will be permanently deleted once the volume is deleted. You will also not be able to restart the associated instance.

Required IAM Policy

To use Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, you must be given the required type of access in a An IAM document that specifies who has what type of access to your resources. It is used in different ways: to mean an individual statement written in the policy language; to mean a collection of statements in a single, named "policy" document (which has an Oracle Cloud ID (OCID) assigned to it); and to mean the overall body of policies your organization uses to control access to resources. written by an administrator, whether you're using the Console or the REST API with an SDK, CLI, or other tool. If you try to perform an action and get a message that you don’t have permission or are unauthorized, confirm with your administrator the type of access you've been granted and which A collection of related resources that can be accessed only by certain groups that have been given permission by an administrator in your organization. you should work in.

For administrators: The policy in Let volume admins manage block volumes, backups, and volume groups lets the specified group do everything with block volumes and backups.

If you're new to policies, see Getting Started with Policies and Common Policies. If you want to dig deeper into writing policies for instances, cloud networks, or other Core Services API resources, see Details for the Core Services.

Using the Console

  1. Open the navigation menu. Under Core Infrastructure, go to Compute and click Boot Volumes.

  2. Choose your Compartment.

  3. In the Boot Volumes list, find the volume you want to delete.

  4. Click the Actions icon (three dots) for the boot volume.
  5. Click Terminate and confirm the selection when prompted.

Using the API

Use the DeleteBootVolume operation to delete a boot volume.

For information about using the API and signing requests, see REST APIs and Security Credentials. For information about SDKs, see Software Development Kits and Command Line Interface.