Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Documentation

Deleting a Kubernetes Cluster

You can delete a cluster along with its master nodes, worker nodes, and node pools.

Note the following:

  • When you delete a cluster, no other resources created during the cluster creation process or associated with the cluster (such as VCNs, internet gateways, NAT gateways, route tables, security lists, load balancers, and block volumes) are deleted automatically. If you want to delete these resources, you have to do so manually.
  • Container Engine for Kubernetes creates the worker nodes (compute instances) in a cluster with auto-generated names in the format oke-c<part-of-cluster-OCID>-n<part-of-node-pool-OCID>-s<part-of-subnet-OCID>-<slot>. Do not change the auto-generated names of worker nodes. If you do change the auto-generated name of a worker node and then delete the cluster, the renamed worker node is not deleted. You would have to delete the renamed worker node manually.

Using the Console

To delete a Kubernetes cluster using Container Engine for Kubernetes:

  1. In the Console, open the navigation menu. Under Solutions and Platform, go to Developer Services and click Container Clusters.
  2. Choose a Compartment you have permission to work in.
  3. On the Cluster List page, click the Delete icon beside the name of the cluster to delete, and confirm that you want to delete it.

You can also delete a cluster using the Delete Cluster button on the Cluster page.

Using the API

For information about using the API and signing requests, see REST APIs and Security Credentials. For information about SDKs, see Software Development Kits and Command Line Interface.

Use the DeleteCluster operation to delete a cluster.