Editing the Fault Domain for an Instance

You can change the fault domain where a virtual machine (VM) instance is placed.

A fault domain is a grouping of hardware and infrastructure that is distinct from other fault domains in the same availability domain. By properly leveraging fault domains you can increase the availability of applications running on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. For more information and best practices, see Fault Domains.

Supported Shapes

You can change the fault domain for instances that use these shapes:

  • VM.Standard.E3 series
  • VM.Standard.E2 series
  • VM.Standard2 series
  • VM.Standard.B1 series
  • VM.Standard1 series
  • VM.GPU3 series

These shapes cannot be edited:

  • VM.Standard.E2.1.Micro series
  • VM.DenseIO1 series
  • VM.DenseIO2 series
  • VM.GPU2 series
  • VM instances that run on dedicated virtual machine hosts
  • Bare metal shapes

Required IAM Policy

To use Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, you must be given the required type of access in a policy  written by an administrator, whether you're using the Console or the REST API with an SDK, CLI, or other tool. If you try to perform an action and get a message that you don’t have permission or are unauthorized, confirm with your administrator the type of access you've been granted and which compartment  you should work in.

For administrators: The policy in Let users launch Compute instances includes the ability to change the fault domain for an instance. If the specified group doesn't need to launch instances or attach volumes, you could simplify that policy to include only manage instance-family, and remove the statements involving volume-family and virtual-network-family.

If you're new to policies, see Getting Started with Policies and Common Policies. For reference material about writing policies for instances, cloud networks, or other Core Services API resources, see Details for the Core Services.

Using the Console

  1. Open the navigation menu. Under Core Infrastructure, go to Compute and click Instances.
  2. Click the instance that you're interested in.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Click Edit Fault Domain. Then, select a new fault domain.
  5. Click Save Changes.

    If the instance is running, it is rebooted.